2017 Officer Nominees

There will be a congregational meeting on Sunday, March 26, 2017, in the Sanctuary at the end of the 11 am worship service for the purpose of voting on the nominations for officers. Each year, the Officer Nominating Committee (ONC) is elected by the congregation and is comprised of various elders, deacons and members at large. The ONC, consisting of Chandler Phillips, Active Elder (Moderator), Laurie Connell, Active Elder (Vice-Moderator), Sean Weigler, Deacon Moderator, Ron Johnson, Edwin Njiru, Casey Sinclair, and Judy Werner, presents the following nominees:

The Office of Elder

The congregation is governed by the Session, which is comprised of the church’s pastors and 24 elders elected by the congregation’s covenant partners. The Session has responsibility and authority for governing the congregation, overseeing its spiritual health, and guiding its mission for Christ in the world. Each elder is elected for a four-year term.

The Office of Deacon

The mission and vision Statement of the deacons of the church is “. . . to build Christian Community by making strong connections in the name of Jesus Christ through ministries of care, prayer and communication.” The key ministry for implementing this mission and vision is the Parish Ministry through its 132 geographic groupings of approximately 25 households each. The initial term of expected service for deacons is three years; and this term may be extended year by year thereafter by an annual commissioning. The Session oversees and directs the ministry of the deacons.

© Highland Park Presbyterian Church.
Memphis Web Design by Speak.